Council Leadership – Executive Board

New Birth of Freedom Council Officers

Council President Matthew M. Haar
Council Commissioner Thomas A. Steckbeck
Treasurer Lance E. Smith
Secretary / CEO / Scout Executive Ronald M. Gardner, Jr.
Vice President – Administration Kathryn E. Blednick
Vice President – Alumni Relations Mark S. Robertson
Vice President – Camping David Wyrwas
Vice President – District Operations Shawn Leppo
Vice President – Family Scouting Wesley E. Garrod
Vice President – Fund Development Jan L. Wagner
Vice President – Marketing & Communications Michael D. Button
Vice President – Membership & Relationships J. Scot Chadwick
Vice President – Program  Randall K. Cline
Vice President – Properties Stephen A. Wilt
Vice President – STEM/Exploring Vacant

 Executive Board Members

David Bedar
Harold Booth, Jr.
Alan R. Boynton, Jr.
Scott Cantor
Matthew A. Clemens
Jeffrey B. Engle
Thomas J. Fowlston
Evan J. Forrester
Brian S. Funkhouser
Dennis Geiger
James D. George
Shawn Gooden
Sean Gormley
Hon. Glen R. Grell
Michael W. Hassell
Dr. Franklin R. Herron
Susan E. Jacobs
Jonathan D. Koltash
John M. Kotchish
Jeffrey D. Lobach
John J. Luciani
Blake A. Lynch
William F. McQuade
Hon. Ronald E. Miller
Dr. Kevin H. Mosser
Harold W. Nightwine
James B. Pannebaker
Hon. Todd R. Platts
Thomas J. Porsch
Thomas Pokrivka (Youth Rep.)
Joseph Robinson
Nora Rotz
Martin L. Strine
Michael V.Z. Summers
Julian Tolbert
Dr. J. Rory Tucker
M. Arthur Williams

District Chairs

Battlefield Robert A. Smith
Conococheague Mark A. Lee
Heritage Trail Albert T. Gohn, Jr.
Keystone Capital Daniel K. “Chip” Bayer
Pioneer Robert L. Badders

How to Contact Our Volunteer Council Officers

If you’d like to directly contact one of our volunteer council officers, please use the contact form below, selecting the officer you wish to communicate with using the drop-down menu provided in the form.

Please keep in mind that Council officers and members of the Executive Board are charged with the overall governance of the organization. The Council’s day-to-day operations are managed by members of the Council’s staff.

If your message requires an immediate response, please contact the appropriate member of our staff. Please refer to our staff directory at or use this contact form – to contact a member of our staff.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.